GoldenEye: Source Forums

  • July 19, 2019, 08:49:04 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Changing default sounds  (Read 1303 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

1computersavvyguy

  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • 1computersavvyguy has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Changing default sounds
« on: May 13, 2012, 01:17:56 pm »

I'm a long time player, new to the forums & server.  I've got a server up and running & have tried it out with a group of friends. It runs fantastic but the only thing that I cant figure out is how to change various sounds. I've replaced some of the default sounds files on my server with different sounds that use the same name and audio formats as the originals, but they the default sounds play on the client end.


Thanks ~
Logged

major

  • On Vacation
  • Retired Developer
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,839
  • Reputation Power: 109
  • major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Changing default sounds
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 01:39:08 pm »

You cannot change the clients sounds if they already have them.

Client isn't looking to the server for the sound file, since the server isn't playing the file. This technique only works for things the server run and client sees. Example would be maps. You can mod a map to a point and users will never know, as stays on server.

Confusing thing to explain. But basically, can't change a clients sounds, or at least a level I can suggest.

Logged
All view points are of my own and not associated with the team.

Mangley

  • Leads The Art
  • Lead Artist
  • 007
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,850
  • Reputation Power: 233
  • Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!Mangley is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Changing default sounds
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2012, 04:33:10 pm »

You can change them in your client install and you will hear them. But nobody else will.

You can use resource lists on a server for clients to download files but this will not overwrite or modify client files. So they still will not be heard. Resource lists are only used to distribute additional files, not modify them.

tl:dr You can't change other people's sounds unless they change them themselves.
Logged
Concept Artist, Environment Artist, Effects Artist, Sound Designer

Troy

  • GE:S Coder
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 816
  • Reputation Power: 175
  • Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!Troy is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Changing default sounds
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2012, 04:37:58 pm »

You can't change other people's sounds unless they change them themselves.
Bottom line.
Logged
Complete - Arsenal, One Bullet is Enough, Tournament DM v2, TurboDM
Defunct - Agent Under Fire
VC - Being such a dick, KM must be stroked before springing into action.
Pages: [1]   Go Up