GoldenEye: Source Forums

• October 18, 2024, 04:23:22 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hammer Editor  (Read 4864 times)

Boris_Crack

• Secret Agent
  • Reputation Power: 17
  • Boris_Crack is working their way up.Boris_Crack is working their way up.Boris_Crack is working their way up.
Hammer Editor
« on: January 09, 2012, 05:34:09 am »

Hey, I'm new to Hammer. I'm currently creating a map. I wanted to know if I should do furnitures and detailed stuff seperatly from the map itself and then import it in? And I've noticed that the number of squares in the gris is limited wich sucks for a perfectionnist like me. Are all of the GES maps made in Hammer? If they are, how can they achieve so much details with so few?
Currently in Progress : ge_mi6 hq

major

• On Vacation
  • Retired Developer
  • Reputation Power: 109
  • major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!
Re: Hammer Editor
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2012, 05:48:59 am »

All source maps are made in hammer.

The grid for working area is massive for a MP map.

Unless your taking about the unit size, in which you press [ and ] to make the grid smaller and larger.

Here is a shot of a old version of Fac_bz (beta4 I believe) to show the size in hammer:

Bottom left shows that you can get the grids pretty small.

And of course if you can your best option is to model your props and such in like 3ds max them import. But you have to now how to model and texture for that. But for your first map, our supplied textures and models should be more then enough.

All view points are of my own and not associated with the team.

Boris_Crack

• Secret Agent