GoldenEye: Source Forums

  • January 17, 2021, 04:22:05 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [RESOLVED] Crashes on server screen  (Read 2886 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pwnige

  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • pwnige has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
[RESOLVED] Crashes on server screen
« on: February 11, 2009, 10:30:00 am »

Whenever I click on a server I want to join, it loads up the server, but then almost immediately crashes on the screen where you can select join, or spectate (or select team).

I am running windows 7 beta using Bootcamp on my mac with a GMA 950 graphics card, so I am completely lost !

Any thoughts?
« Last Edit: February 11, 2009, 11:03:11 am by Sean [Baron] »
Logged
-- Insert Signature Here --

keefy

  • EWJ
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 393
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • keefy is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [ISSUE] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2009, 10:40:47 am »

Do not use windows 7 beta.
beta+beta = problems

I think that gma 950 is too crap to play the game to begin with so that may be the problem.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2009, 10:42:36 am by keefy »
Logged

major

  • On Vacation
  • Retired Developer
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,841
  • Reputation Power: 110
  • major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: [ISSUE] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2009, 10:44:29 am »

Windows 7 works fine, better then Vista.

I also think his GPU is the problem, might have to run in DX8 or be out of luck completely.
Logged
All view points are of my own and not associated with the team.

killermonkey

  • GES Programmer
  • Retired Lead Developer
  • GE:S Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 5,474
  • Reputation Power: 346
  • killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • DroidMonkey Apps
Re: [ISSUE] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2009, 10:57:34 am »

Sorry, but you setup is DEFINITELY not supported by Steam. This is not due to our code, its the source engine.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2009, 11:00:20 am by killermonkey »
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [ISSUE] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2009, 11:03:28 am »

Err moneky, bootcamp is running windows nativly. But the windows 7 migh cause a few headaches.
Logged

major

  • On Vacation
  • Retired Developer
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,841
  • Reputation Power: 110
  • major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: [RESOLVED] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2009, 11:12:07 am »

I think it might work, just don't know how much support you'll get here(as we all are mostly Windows, except for that one Linux "Wine" guy, but really...really ;) ), try looking through the VAVLe Fourms, or googleing for same problem (like Crash on TF2 load with bootcamp or similar)
Logged
All view points are of my own and not associated with the team.

killermonkey

  • GES Programmer
  • Retired Lead Developer
  • GE:S Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 5,474
  • Reputation Power: 346
  • killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • DroidMonkey Apps
Re: [RESOLVED] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2009, 12:46:06 pm »

Err moneky, bootcamp is running windows nativly. But the windows 7 migh cause a few headaches.

I know what bootcamp does! His hardware is still MAC hardware though, duh
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [RESOLVED] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2009, 01:16:56 pm »

Well no, its an intel cpu, intel motherboard, ati graphics (or nividia) it has standard pc parts.
Logged

killermonkey

  • GES Programmer
  • Retired Lead Developer
  • GE:S Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 5,474
  • Reputation Power: 346
  • killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • DroidMonkey Apps
Re: [RESOLVED] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2009, 03:37:55 pm »

Mark....

GMA 950:
http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/gma950/index.htm

Doesn't look like ATI/NVIDIA to me!
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [RESOLVED] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2009, 03:45:25 pm »

hmm didnt think macs had intel graphics cards
Logged

Ryan [Saiz]

  • Retired Developer
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,709
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • Ryan [Saiz] is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
    • My Site
Re: [RESOLVED] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2009, 03:56:14 pm »

My mac doesn't because it's a macbook pro but the macbooks besides the new unibody ones have intel chipsets.
Logged
Quote from: Loafie, Hero of Dreams
He's kind of like a tornado. He's not around all the time, but when he is, shit gets moved hahaha

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [RESOLVED] Crashes on server screen
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2009, 03:59:39 pm »

Ah as my macbook pro has an 8600 in it
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up