GoldenEye: Source Forums

  • January 24, 2021, 01:05:44 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: [BUG] Wrong translation  (Read 5146 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

X-tra

  • -
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 266
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • X-tra is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
[BUG] Wrong translation
« on: February 07, 2009, 10:50:28 am »

I have played this mod like almost every hours this day and I still think that beta 3 is A-W-E-S-O-M-E !!!

But there's is hudge problems whit French translations in goldeneye source. For an exemple, when a round end, it say "Fin du mathce", but it should be "Fin du matche". It's like if i'm saying "End of the roudn". There's a lot of theses smalls mistakes and it's a little bit annoying. Also, letters like "é" or "ô" or "à" (etc) appear as square. Thats kinda annoying. Finaly, achievement's texts are completly messed up. It should be fixed too.

So... yeah... It would be nice to correct that. :)
Logged
Just in case, I'm French. So if you see that some of my sentences dosen't make any sens, you know why. But hey, who care anyway ?

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2009, 11:34:42 am »

As no one on the team speaks french we had to get some outside help for it.

The lang files can be found in  gesource\resources\gesource_french.txt Feel free to fix them and submit the new translations. And we will include it in the next patch.
Logged

Konrad Beerbaum

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,343
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Konrad Beerbaum has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
    • Konrad Beerbaum Online Portfolio
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2009, 12:25:52 pm »

We should have the french letters in the next patch as well. 
Logged
Konrad Beerbaum: Environment Artist
http://www.konradbeerbaum.com

X-tra

  • -
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 266
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • X-tra is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2009, 12:32:02 pm »

Ok thank you for the tip, i'll check that.
As no one on the team speaks french we had to get some outside help for it.

The lang files can be found in  gesource\resources\gesource_french.txt Feel free to fix them and submit the new translations. And we will include it in the next patch.

Ok thanks for the tip, i'll check that.
Logged
Just in case, I'm French. So if you see that some of my sentences dosen't make any sens, you know why. But hey, who care anyway ?

Sean [Baron]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • GE:S Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 6,752
  • Reputation Power: 2
  • Sean [Baron] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
    • GoldenEye: Source Official Site
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2009, 05:38:57 pm »

If anyone wants to do the proper translation, please feel free to contribute. Most of the developers are from the US, and don't speak foreign languages, and so it is very difficult to provide translations for people.
Logged
/Sean "Baron" Stock
Director
sean@goldeneyesource.net

PPK

  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Reputation Power: 26
  • PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.
  • Offline Offline
    • Warrior Nation
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2009, 11:03:51 pm »

If you want me to come up with a Portuguese translation, I'd be glad to help. It will probably bring more players to GE:S. Tell me something if you accept my proposal.

On a side note, I noticed that if you write the word "Portuguese" without the capital letter on the beginning, it signals an error. Fun aspect ;D
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2009, 02:06:42 am »

Sure, email them to me (check my profile) and ill add it in and your name to the credit list.
Logged

PPK

  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Reputation Power: 26
  • PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.
  • Offline Offline
    • Warrior Nation
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2009, 02:09:05 am »

Ok then. I'll work on them as soon as I get a chance. BTW, how can I do them? Do I vae to create a .txt file like the one you mentioned, but instead of being gesource_french.txt it is gesource_portuguese.txt?

Thank you for letting me do this btw! ;D
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2009, 02:12:12 am »

find this file gesource\resources\gesource_english.txt, rename the english to the language you want (for example french would be gesource_french.txt). Then edit the file changing the text on the right (dont touch the text on the left as they are key fields) to the language.

There are two other files that can be translated but they are not really important
Logged

PPK

  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Reputation Power: 26
  • PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.
  • Offline Offline
    • Warrior Nation
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2009, 02:15:29 am »

Ok, I'll do it then. Thanks for the info on which files to edit. When I have them ready I'll send them to you Mark (can I call you Mark?).
It may take a while, because I want to have a perfect translation. ;)

EDIT: the other two files you mentioned were these? mp3player_english.txt and gameui_english.txt?
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 02:35:01 am by PPK »
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2009, 02:23:36 am »

yeah those are the two other files and Mark is fine with me.
Logged

PPK

  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Reputation Power: 26
  • PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.
  • Offline Offline
    • Warrior Nation
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2009, 02:27:20 am »

Ok. One thing before I get my hands on those files. Can I use characters like ç and with a diacritical sign, like á?

It's just to make sure since it may cause problems if invalid characters are used.
Logged

Doc.NO

  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 836
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • Doc.NO hides in shadows.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2009, 02:29:48 am »

Ok. One thing before I get my hands on those files. Can I use characters like ç and with a diacritical sign, like á?
At the moment its not possible due to the current fonts used.
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2009, 02:32:02 am »

Also try it out ingame. If it comes up as a square, then no you cant use it.
Logged

PPK

  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,177
  • Reputation Power: 26
  • PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.PPK is on the verge of being accepted.
  • Offline Offline
    • Warrior Nation
Re: [BUG] Wrong translation
« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2009, 02:34:33 am »

Alright, I'll try it out then. I'll make a new thread or post here when I'm finished with this.
Thanks for the help! ;)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up