GoldenEye: Source Forums

  • December 15, 2019, 03:06:03 am
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [FIXED] Memory could not be read  (Read 3604 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

coolDisguise

  • GoldenEye fan
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 439
  • Reputation Power: 12
  • coolDisguise barely matters.coolDisguise barely matters.
  • Offline Offline
[FIXED] Memory could not be read
« on: February 07, 2009, 02:01:58 am »

Hi guys!

Thanks for the release, unfortunately it doesn't work for me. :-/
I installed everything following the install guide, restarted Steam afterwards but

1.) Steam doesn't find any GE:S-servers yet
2.) when I try to start GE:S, just after the "powered by source"-logo fades away I see the loading screen for the menu, then the program freezes leaving me with the following error (in hl2.exe):

The instruction at "0x008e13e9" referenced memory at "0x0c6afd10". The memory could not be "read".

It only occurs when I try to start GE:S and I didn't add or exchange any RAM recently.

-> Is it just me or might there still be an error?
In any case: what can I do about it?
« Last Edit: February 07, 2009, 08:52:25 am by Sean [Baron] »
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Memory could not be read
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2009, 02:04:53 am »

OK what we need you to do is goto this folder: C:\program files\steam\steamapps\[steam login]\source sdk base 2007 and send us the newest dump file (looks something like this: Steam__3686__2008_12_27T3_12_30C405203.mdmp)

When you do that we can work out why its crashing and hopefully help you.
Logged

coolDisguise

  • GoldenEye fan
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 439
  • Reputation Power: 12
  • coolDisguise barely matters.coolDisguise barely matters.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Memory could not be read
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2009, 02:15:08 am »

Thanks for the quick reply, I sent you the dump by e-mail. :-)
Logged

Govexx

  • Guest
Re: Memory could not be read
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2009, 02:56:59 am »

I have a similar problem, I hope it's OK if I send you my MDMP file as well.
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Memory could not be read
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2009, 03:18:40 am »

Yep go for it. The more info i have the easier it is to debug.
Logged

Nat562

  • Guest
Re: Memory could not be read
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2009, 08:15:54 am »

yeh, im getting this problem aswell, i believe the game which uses the same engine, Dark Messiah had similar problems.
i want to play it.... NOW           ;D
Logged

Ruone Delacroix

  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 320
  • Reputation Power: 7
  • Ruone Delacroix has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
    • Nexus of Gaming
Re: Memory could not be read
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2009, 08:27:58 am »

It only seems to happen to my friends and myself when we try to join a game without starting it up first. I'm not sure if you're trying to join a game directly from the server list outside of the game.
Logged
Admin of {TLP} Tastes Like Pants

Proud player of Goldeneye: Source. Keep up the great work, team!

Nat562

  • Guest
Re: Memory could not be read
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2009, 08:32:28 am »

oh nevermind, fixed it :D
Logged

coolDisguise

  • GoldenEye fan
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 439
  • Reputation Power: 12
  • coolDisguise barely matters.coolDisguise barely matters.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Memory could not be read
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2009, 08:36:55 am »

Since I cannot see any GE:S-servers in the steam server list, I tried to start GE:S and see if I could at least explore the content "offline" then - but it crashes just before the menu has been loaded (see above).

So it's not about trying to start/join a game in a bugged way, but more like I cannot start at all.

@Nat562: What do you mean by "fixed it"? -> Who fixed it and how?
Logged

Nat562

  • Guest
Re: Memory could not be read
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2009, 08:47:37 am »

Well, basically, from looking at other stuff on the internet with similar probs, all i did was reinstall it, then aparently what causes the memory errors are other things in the backgrouhd, so i closed my Avast and other stuff that i didnt need and voila!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up