GoldenEye: Source Forums

  • June 16, 2019, 03:34:31 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex  (Read 2483 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CCsaint10

  • Nickname: "Saint"
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Reputation Power: 71
  • CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
[BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« on: February 14, 2009, 07:07:50 am »

Hey guys,

  So in the windows in classic and also in normal complex the player is unable to shoot threw the red covers on the windows like you were able to in GE64.




*thanks JC Ferggy for the picture*
Logged

Brings back memories, doesn't it? :D

mookie

  • Idiot
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 252
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • mookie is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 07:58:10 am »

AFAIK there is no bullet penetration in GES so far.
Logged
5 2 3 7 1 4 6 0

VC

  • Valiant Varanid√¶, Citrus Jockey
  • Retired Developer
  • GE:S Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,843
  • Reputation Power: 16
  • VC is working their way up.VC is working their way up.VC is working their way up.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2009, 08:05:29 am »

We have HL2/Source penetration.  The material type determines if something can pass or not.  Hence, catwalks in Archives can pass through, grates in Library can pass through, catwalks in Library cannot, glass can pass through but it sometimes seems like it doesn't in Control...
Logged
"As for VC's scripts they have not broken the game at all, in fact the game has never felt better." -- KM
"(03:12:41 PM) KM: I would call you a no life loser, but you are useful"
"(03:12:59 PM) VC: Go ahead.  I am, and I am."

Sergeant Kelly

  • Deus Ex Fan.
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 720
  • Reputation Power: 18
  • Sergeant Kelly is working their way up.Sergeant Kelly is working their way up.Sergeant Kelly is working their way up.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2009, 08:19:21 am »

I think that's because the curvy control glass is actually a prop.
Logged

CCsaint10

  • Nickname: "Saint"
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Reputation Power: 71
  • CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2009, 09:07:17 pm »

correct, I know it doesn't have to do with penetration. it all has to do with the material they put down. for instance...all that needs to be done is make it like the walls in complex that are able to be shot through and then just add a barrier so the player can't go through it. I would assume it is an easy fix..but I could be wrong.

Can anyone confirm this with me? Is it going to be looked into? It is so much hard on Normal complex and complex_classic to actually kill the person in the window because you can't shoot through it
« Last Edit: February 16, 2009, 08:27:03 am by bklax23 »
Logged

Brings back memories, doesn't it? :D

CCsaint10

  • Nickname: "Saint"
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Reputation Power: 71
  • CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2009, 08:27:49 am »

*bumped so you can see my question I put in from last post*
Logged

Brings back memories, doesn't it? :D

VC

  • Valiant Varanid√¶, Citrus Jockey
  • Retired Developer
  • GE:S Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,843
  • Reputation Power: 16
  • VC is working their way up.VC is working their way up.VC is working their way up.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2009, 09:22:31 am »

If the brush can become a non-solid and be wrapped by a Player Clip, that'd be no problem at all.
Logged
"As for VC's scripts they have not broken the game at all, in fact the game has never felt better." -- KM
"(03:12:41 PM) KM: I would call you a no life loser, but you are useful"
"(03:12:59 PM) VC: Go ahead.  I am, and I am."

CCsaint10

  • Nickname: "Saint"
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Reputation Power: 71
  • CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2009, 10:26:20 am »

so then i am assuming that means no...because it sounds like you are saying you can't do it...
Logged

Brings back memories, doesn't it? :D

Mike [fourtecks]

  • Disregard KM, acquire death threats.
  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,734
  • Reputation Power: 19
  • Mike [fourtecks] is working their way up.Mike [fourtecks] is working their way up.Mike [fourtecks] is working their way up.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2009, 05:43:09 pm »

The material can be given a parameter that tells bullets to pass during a map compile. I'm not sure if Loafie want it though. Will throw this thread his way.
Logged
ge_facility, ge_facility_backzone, ge_control

Loafie, Hero of Dreams

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • GE:S Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 4,065
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Loafie, Hero of Dreams has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2009, 06:02:12 pm »

the material on classic got parameter'd to allow bullets to pass through. Will be updated in 3.1
Logged
maps in production: ge_temple maps released: ge_caves, ge_complex, ge_complex_classic
Quote
Loafie, Hero of Dreams is watching Big Love
fourtecks: you are watching basstronix?

CCsaint10

  • Nickname: "Saint"
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Reputation Power: 71
  • CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: [BUG] Unable to shoot through grates on windows in complex
« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2009, 06:37:29 pm »

Thanks Loafie, but I think it also is like that in Normal complex...I don't think it allows you to shoot through it. Can that one be changed for 3.1 also?
Logged

Brings back memories, doesn't it? :D
Pages: [1]   Go Up