GoldenEye: Source Forums

  • May 26, 2019, 05:59:58 am
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: .mdl files to 3ds?  (Read 2397 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Sp1nn3y

  • Local Graphic Artist
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 570
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • Sp1nn3y has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
    • Sp1nn3ys Portfolio Website
.mdl files to 3ds?
« on: February 13, 2009, 05:40:18 pm »

Well i googled it and i saw a few different programs here... What would you guys recommend? or what ones do you use?

Autodesk 3ds Max 2009 is what i use...
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: .mdl files to 3ds?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2009, 05:43:32 pm »

What are you trying to decompile?
Logged

Sp1nn3y

  • Local Graphic Artist
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 570
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • Sp1nn3y has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
    • Sp1nn3ys Portfolio Website
Re: .mdl files to 3ds?
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 05:56:47 pm »

trying to get .mdl files into my 3ds
Logged

Mark [lodle]

  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,411
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: .mdl files to 3ds?
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2009, 06:10:02 pm »

Yeah what for? Mdl files are compiled models.
Logged

Ryan [Saiz]

  • Retired Developer
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,709
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • Ryan [Saiz] is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
    • My Site
Re: .mdl files to 3ds?
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2009, 06:12:05 pm »

You will need to use cannonfodders mdl decompiler, then you will need to find an smd importer for max. What model are you trying to get in?
Logged
Quote from: Loafie, Hero of Dreams
He's kind of like a tornado. He's not around all the time, but when he is, shit gets moved hahaha

Sp1nn3y

  • Local Graphic Artist
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 570
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • Sp1nn3y has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
    • Sp1nn3ys Portfolio Website
Re: .mdl files to 3ds?
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2009, 09:24:00 pm »

Well i was actually going to work on some random models.. texture up the golden gun(for fun really)... tweak with a few things as a trial/error thing to get re-acquainted with 3ds again..(it's been a fair while) you know.. but i'll give those comp/decomp programs a try thanks.. also was going to try and mess with a few suits for bond and stuff... simple stuff for now :D.
Logged

Ryan [Saiz]

  • Retired Developer
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,709
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • Ryan [Saiz] is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
    • My Site
Re: .mdl files to 3ds?
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2009, 10:22:00 pm »

Textures are vtf's, and are not in mdl files.
Logged
Quote from: Loafie, Hero of Dreams
He's kind of like a tornado. He's not around all the time, but when he is, shit gets moved hahaha
Pages: [1]   Go Up