GoldenEye: Source Forums

Debriefing => Bug Reports & Fixes => Topic started by: Mastix on February 20, 2010, 03:52:16 am

Title: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Mastix on February 20, 2010, 03:52:16 am
Two things I am not sure the devs are aware of:
1) autoexec.cfg doesn't automaticly execute itself unlike all the other source mods / games.
2) Extremley low FPS in ge_caves for no apperant reason, tried disabling HDR / Bloom / lowering all the effects and w/e. I have no FPS problems at all in all the Source games and mods I play even in huge detailed maps. Another two guys that were on the server with me complained about performance in ge_caves aswell.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: keefy on February 20, 2010, 04:01:24 am
add exec autoexec.cfg to either the valve.rc file or the launch parameters of goldeneye source.
Cave dose get bad FPS for some reason.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: killermonkey on February 20, 2010, 04:01:53 am
use valve.rc to do auto execution on server load (ONCE) and server.cfg for execution on every map change.  There is no need for autoexec.cfg anyway and I don't think its supported in the OB SDK.

Caves FPS is due to the demands of the HDR and the Particle Effects. Sorry.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Mastix on February 20, 2010, 04:04:08 am
use valve.rc to do auto execution on server load (ONCE) and server.cfg for execution on every map change.  There is no need for autoexec.cfg anyway and I don't think its supported in the OB SDK.

Caves FPS is due to the demands of the HDR and the Particle Effects. Sorry.
Even when HDR is off it's not amazingly smooth.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: killermonkey on February 20, 2010, 04:56:27 am
Then your computer sucks (hehe). Lower your AA.

We can't make the game for every possible configuration, you have to step up to the plate at some point and configure your settings appropriate to your system and your desired FPS.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Mastix on February 20, 2010, 04:57:59 am
Then your computer sucks. Lower your AA.
Omg seriously, I said that I played way heavier Maps with all the effects on and max res, the FPS here isn't normaly low, it's bumpy with FPS spikes.
My system is : Radeon HD 4870, 4 Giga of Ram, Core 2 Duo E8400
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: keefy on February 20, 2010, 05:02:20 am
Omg seriously, I said that I played way heavier Maps with all the effects on and max res, the FPS here isn't normaly low, it's bumpy with FPS spikes.
My system is : Radeon HD 4870, 4 Giga of Ram, Core 2 Duo E8400
I agree something is strange going on with that map, I have same CPU as you but a lesser powerful 8800GT and barely abd last night I barely got 30 FPS in soem parts of the map.
It is strange though because I tried just now in lsten server and it all ran smooth as silk, there must be soem sort of leak that causes FPS to drop over time?
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Mastix on February 20, 2010, 05:08:59 am
I agree something is strange going on with that map, I have same CPU as you but a lesser powerful 8800GT and barely abd last night I barely got 30 FPS in soem parts of the map.
It is strange though because I tried just now in lsten server and it all ran smooth as silk, there must be soem sort of leak that causes FPS to drop over time?
That's exactly what I think, it seems to happen in specific areas in the map that in them the FPS is bumpy as hell.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Jonathon [SSL] on February 20, 2010, 05:20:53 am
It's not the particles, the framerate was terrible even before I went in and added them. I think it has to do with the normalmap + spec being applied to every texture in the main room.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Jeron [SharpSh00tah] on February 20, 2010, 06:49:39 am
Where in caves? Can you take pictures of the areas that drop? They might need a few area portals...
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Jonathon [SSL] on February 20, 2010, 06:58:21 am
Sharp I'm pretty sure it's the added shaders, they weren't in Beta 3 and the map ran a lot better (sort of) then. The map is already fully optimized with hint/skip and such.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Jeron [SharpSh00tah] on February 20, 2010, 06:59:47 am
Sharp I'm pretty sure it's the added shaders, they weren't in Beta 3 and the map ran a lot better (sort of) then. The map is already fully optimized with hint/skip and such.

Right, I agree with that completely, but I want to make sure that it is not that case. It is possible that the hint in one area may not work properly. Can you check up on that with wireframe? Thx
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: killermonkey on February 20, 2010, 07:27:46 am
Omg seriously, I said that I played way heavier Maps with all the effects on and max res, the FPS here isn't normaly low, it's bumpy with FPS spikes.
My system is : Radeon HD 4870, 4 Giga of Ram, Core 2 Duo E8400

Your opinion and your specs are two different things. One without the other is a worthless feedback. Now that I have both I would agree with you. What resolution are you playing at (also a very important spec)?

I have 8800 GTS, 6 GB Ram, E6600 Core 2 Duo, and caves runs just fine for me except when there are major explosions in the main room.

How much video ram do you have. That would make a very large difference in terms of texture changes. The actual calculation of spec + normal map is trivial and any modern card can handle it with ease especially since source uses cube maps. But if you have <= 512 MB VRAM then you will have difficulty STORING the calculations at higher resolutions and will have to rely on your system RAM more which slows down your card.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Jeron [SharpSh00tah] on February 20, 2010, 07:39:00 am
He has spoken. Its true too lol, I had/have the same problem.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: CCsaint10 on February 20, 2010, 08:20:43 pm
as much as no one wants to believe me, +showbudget shows a TON of dynamic lighting on caves for me, which kills me on frames. I have HAD similar problems to what he has as I have stated to KM multiple times, but lately I haven't had any issues. After i installed a non-corrupt driver, it hasn't seemed to happen yet. Either way, the stuff SSL was saying and dynamic lighting are killers for frames. Try updating you graphics driver first and then see what happens....
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Mike [fourtecks] on February 21, 2010, 12:29:17 pm
I told KM about this moments before release... This map should have gotten more love.

Yes, dynamic lighting is spiking in showbudget. Either there are animated lights in areas, or the point_spotlights didn't have dynamic lighting disabled (enabled by default btw). There was no issues in previous releases, so I don't know whats going on here. I'll look into it once I see Loafie on if he doesn't get into fixing up the problems.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: mookie on February 21, 2010, 12:30:37 pm
Probably it's all the named lights that go with the generators.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: little 00 on March 06, 2010, 06:16:09 am
In beta 4. beta 3 ran better.
I cant hold fps in caves map or runway it drops till i get to around 10 and 20 fps then my system crashes and does a system dumps sometimes or sometimes exits the GES
system spec are
Intel core 2 quad Q8200 @2.33 Hz.
8 GB ram
Nvidia Geforce GTX 260 (Gddr3. (896MB) 3(refresh rate 75 Hz)
res works best at 800x600 or 1024x786
advance settings all on low, off except filtering is on triliner
about to get rid of windows vista

I have 1 other source game counter strike but i don't play it much
any suggestions? Thank you in advance
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: Mangley on March 06, 2010, 06:41:10 am
I don't get low framerates in caves unless I alt-tab out of game. When I get back in I get bad framerates in areas with generator lights. What I've noticed is that if I destroy all the generators in the map that my framerate returns to normal for the rest of the map.

It was exactly the same in 3.1
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: killermonkey on March 06, 2010, 08:02:34 am
@little 00

This seems like its a driver issue. UNINSTALL your current drivers and restart. Windows will replace it with the default. THEN reinstall the latest version. Report back when done.


I request more specs on your system, software side. Firewalls, anti virus, etc. What are the specs on your HD (RPM, capacity, etc)
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: VC on March 06, 2010, 09:34:19 am
You know I have to run exec autoexec manually EVERY DAMN TIME because you haven't fixed this, KM.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: little 00 on March 10, 2010, 01:06:31 pm
Older drivers work a little better but have to use higher res or the game skips like on a CD but its on an HDD and that causes over heating problems then the fps goes down and and the game will freeze or exit or crash
I have ran system restore in the past but that only helps for a week then back to the same mess again ???
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: killermonkey on March 10, 2010, 02:08:11 pm
you must have a serious spyware/malware infection or your hard drive is about to poop itself. Suggest you upgrade to windows 7 ASAP and be CAREFUL with what you reinstall back to your system. (DO NOT DO AN UPGRADE OF WINDOWS)
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: little 00 on March 10, 2010, 02:34:03 pm
as little 00 would say in game um ouch
YOUCH or ouch-eee
 :-\
This tempts me to switch to Linux :)
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: VC on March 10, 2010, 03:04:27 pm
I run Linux as my main.  The only thing I use windows for is Source, and I don't plug the wire in until it's firewalled.
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: little 00 on March 10, 2010, 03:09:30 pm
you must have a serious spyware/malware infection or your hard drive is about to poop itself. Suggest you upgrade to windows 7 ASAP and be CAREFUL with what you reinstall back to your system. (DO NOT DO AN UPGRADE OF WINDOWS)
then 2 hours later vista goes crazy
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: little 00 on March 13, 2010, 03:39:23 pm
got a replacement HDD and windows 7 getting ready to test GE:S with the upgrades
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: 7FoX on April 27, 2010, 08:36:50 am
beta3 perfomance FTW
Title: Re: Two bugs - ge_caves low FPS & autoexec.cfg
Post by: little 00 on May 01, 2010, 04:41:14 pm
Is there a way to disable shadows that has always helped my system with any fps type game?

by the way widows 7 helped but this version got bad problems i have tried the older versions back to beta 1 and they were stable in Comparison video card memory is 896mb gddr3