GoldenEye: Source Forums

• March 28, 2024, 07:23:46 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: 3D artist  (Read 18477 times)

V

3D artist
« on: July 21, 2008, 05:26:12 pm »

Hello, I started studying 3D last year after being inspired by a videogame I played. I have decided to make this my career choice, however as a concept artist I am pretty underwhelming. I am interested in contributing to the project as a 3D artist. I have some good experience of efficient polygon and NURBS modeling, I am somewhat proficient in the concepts of unwrapping UVs, and I believe I could probably paint the UVs to a good standard in a 2D suite.
I am interested in character animation mostly but I think for the time being I should probably stick to creating simple assets should you requite it. In Maya I'm pretty much self taught, I took a small part time course in 3DS Max and learnt a lot about animation but I prefer to work in Maya. I have played around with Valve's Hammer and Poser tools but never done anything extensive besides making a simple map.

I'm very determined, I have high standards and I can identify errors in my own work and will endeavor to correct them.

Position applied for - general 3D artist
Experience - 1 complete year of 3D, mostly self taught.
Programs used - Maya primarily, 3DS Max as a backup, learning ZBrush for high res sculpting and poly painting however I would not consider myself suitable for any GE:S work with this app. Photoshop, learning GIMP.
Sample work -
Maya
http://i34.tinypic.com/2cwrma9.png (hover bike, w/placeholder shaders )
http://i34.tinypic.com/t6fc43.png (character model and UV unwrapping, placeholder texture of course)
http://i37.tinypic.com/108e9ur.png (render of that character)
http://i35.tinypic.com/25qg7k5.jpg (FK/IK rig created with a tutorial, the rig was 100% manual by myself)
Max
http://i35.tinypic.com/71sr4h.jpg (desert animation test)