GoldenEye: Source Forums

Editing and Customization => Modding Help => Topic started by: moneyhouse on March 19, 2009, 09:11:24 am

Title: LUA question
Post by: moneyhouse on March 19, 2009, 09:11:24 am
Hi guys. I love GE:S

I wanted to make a multiplayer co-op map where you fight the computer. And some other stuff. can u do it with lua?

i did alot of myth2 game scripting, if it can be done i probably can do it
Title: Re: LUA question
Post by: VC on March 19, 2009, 09:59:34 am
There is currently no support for computer AI competitors.
Title: Re: LUA question
Post by: Mark [lodle] on March 19, 2009, 10:46:12 am
Well not yet any way :P
Title: Re: LUA question
Post by: moneyhouse on March 19, 2009, 11:26:23 am
So all the uh... constants? commands? that i can use for scripting are:

http://wiki.goldeneyesource.net/index.php/Category:Lua_CallBacks
http://wiki.goldeneyesource.net/index.php/Category:Lua_Functions

correct? plus the syntax for LUA of course

well they got enough commands to do some good stuff anyway. Maybe we can petition them for NPC movement and remake a few of the solo levels from N64

i offer my 5 years of python/c++ to get some NPC movement
Title: Re: LUA question
Post by: Mark [lodle] on March 19, 2009, 11:42:10 am
Those commands are only for gameplay mods. As i said above, there is no support for it yet.
Title: Re: LUA question
Post by: moneyhouse on March 19, 2009, 11:42:45 am
apparently NPCs are built into source..

http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Category:AI
Title: Re: LUA question
Post by: Mark [lodle] on March 19, 2009, 12:10:13 pm
But thats a long way from having a lua interface so you the users can code your own. When its ready, we will let you know.
Title: Re: LUA question
Post by: moneyhouse on March 19, 2009, 02:51:55 pm
Any info on LUA for goldeneye or the source engine?

i want to write a script where you can hold a button(or activate something) and you can run faster but u cannot shoot your weapon. It would be more like goldeneye64 with the sideways strafing.

doesn't look like theres a command out yet to control speed. shitty.
Title: Re: LUA question
Post by: Mark [lodle] on March 19, 2009, 03:07:31 pm
And there wont. We are not coding the whole game in lua, only parts of it. Atm all you can do is write gameplay mods but we are looking at expanding that into other areas. As i said above, we will let you know when its ready.