GoldenEye: Source Forums

• March 28, 2024, 02:13:14 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: [ISSUE] Attempting to run dedicated Fedora Linux server  (Read 8002 times)

MSuLL

• Agent
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • MSuLL has no influence.
[ISSUE] Attempting to run dedicated Fedora Linux server
« on: February 01, 2010, 06:10:34 am »

Hey all,

First off, thank you VERY much for all the work on this awesome mod.  As an Unreal Tournament (UT99) coder myself I know these things take a lot of time.

I'm working on getting a dedicated server up for my clan.  I'm running Linux, Fedora 12 flavor.  I'm a complete noob to server setup on anything Valve or Source; so with that in mind:

I've got all files in place, everything looks good and ready to go.  I've not done any modifications at all other than working in the server.cfg to set admin pass and server name.

To start the server, as per the wiki I issue:
./srcds_run -game gesource +map ge_runway +maxplayers 16

srcds_run spits a gross-looking segfault:

Console initialized.
srcds_i486[1583]: segfault at 0 ip (null) sp 00000000ffa32d9c error 14 in srcds_i486[8048000+e000]
./srcds_run: line 352: 1583 Segmentation fault $HL_CMD

Adding -debug to the command line shows no further information.  Worse comes to worse I can use Windows, but honestly I prefer to host game servers under Linux.

Any help would be deeply appreciated.  Thanks guys  :)

killermonkey

• GES Programmer
  • Retired Lead Developer
  • GE:S Fanatic
  • Reputation Power: 346
  • killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!
    • DroidMonkey Apps