GoldenEye: Source Forums

Debriefing => Bug Reports & Fixes => Topic started by: spurrizh on August 23, 2016, 04:11:17 pm

Title: [BUG] Opening the console doesn't work (Have tried everything)
Post by: spurrizh on August 23, 2016, 04:11:17 pm
So I'm having an issue with the console, I can't seem to be able to open it.
I have tried EVERYTHING such as enabling the console in advanced options in the game. I press the console button that has been the standard button for consoles in all source games. I also tried doing "-console" in launch options in both the mod and sdk base 2007 and none of that worked. I also tried to change the keyboard layout and tried all the buttons to see if it works.

I'm not the only one who is currently having this issue, all of my friends who recently started to play faces the same issue.
Title: Re: [BUG] Opening the console doesn't work (Have tried everything)
Post by: Death on August 23, 2016, 05:06:08 pm
two things,

launch options with the launcher dont work. you need to add:

Code: [Select]
-game "C:\Program Files(x86)\Steam\steamapps\sourcemods\gesource" -console

to Source SDK Base 2007 in steam launch options

change the directory to your local install of gesource / steam.

then the console should appear, next type:

Code: [Select]
bind "KEY" toggleconsole

default is
Code: [Select]
bind "`" toggleconsole

Title: Re: [BUG] Opening the console doesn't work (Have tried everything)
Post by: kraid on August 23, 2016, 05:17:09 pm
As for binding the console to a key, make sure to choose one that is not different in other nations kayboard layouts. For me it worked when i bound to F9.

An alternative to Deaths method:
find the config.cfg located in ..Steam/Steamapps/Sourcemods/gesource/gfc/
Open it with a Text editor and add the line:
Code: [Select]
bind "F9" "toggleconsole"
Save the file, start GES and press F9 once the main menue is loaded.
Title: Re: [BUG] Opening the console doesn't work (Have tried everything)
Post by: BALIST0N on September 02, 2016, 02:05:46 am
i have the same problem, i have try to change the bind like this :

bind "/" "toggleconsole"

but no way, nothing happend

but also there are scriptures that appears at the top left of the screen sometimes...
Title: Re: [BUG] Opening the console doesn't work (Have tried everything)
Post by: kraid on September 02, 2016, 03:03:22 am
If you don't have an US Keyboard, then you rather should use a Key that is the same on every keyboard.
Like i used bind "F9" "toggleconsole", checked "enable developer console" in the ingame Options and it works.
Title: Re: [BUG] Opening the console doesn't work (Have tried everything)
Post by: PONG on September 09, 2016, 12:40:41 pm
two things,

launch options with the launcher dont work. you need to add:

Code: [Select]
-game "C:\Program Files(x86)\Steam\steamapps\sourcemods\gesource" -console

to Source SDK Base 2007 in steam launch options

change the directory to your local install of gesource / steam.

then the console should appear, next type:

Code: [Select]
bind "KEY" toggleconsole

default is
Code: [Select]
bind "`" toggleconsole

Could you make a more in depth tutorial for this because whatever i'm doing it is not working.

Thanks/ PONG
Title: Re: [BUG] Opening the console doesn't work (Have tried everything)
Post by: markpeterjameslegg on September 09, 2016, 01:30:16 pm
Download the autoexec.cfg from the link...

http://www.mediafire.com/download/06hnt33sdfv8665/autoexec.cfg

Now put it in your "Steam\steamapps\sourcemods\gesource\cfg\" folder. Use the key directly under "Esc" or directly next to "1" to open console. If it still isn't working, open the autoexec.cfg using notepad and change the following highlighted in red (Between the first set of quotes) to whatever key you want to use...

bind "`" "toggleconsole"

Hope this helps :)
Title: Re: [BUG] Opening the console doesn't work (Have tried everything)
Post by: kraid on September 09, 2016, 02:26:06 pm
Note that due to different Keyboard layouts in US and other countries a lot of the keys are assigned to other characters when not using a US Keyboard.

In that event you should assign a key that remains the same on every keyboard layout (e.g. F9)
Title: Re: [BUG] Opening the console doesn't work (Have tried everything)
Post by: PONG on September 09, 2016, 02:46:09 pm
Download the autoexec.cfg from the link...

http://www.mediafire.com/download/06hnt33sdfv8665/autoexec.cfg

Now put it in your "Steam\steamapps\sourcemods\gesource\cfg\" folder. Use the key directly under "Esc" or directly next to "1" to open console. If it still isn't working, open the autoexec.cfg using notepad and change the following highlighted in red (Between the first set of quotes) to whatever key you want to use...

bind "`" "toggleconsole"

Hope this helps :)

Thanks A LOT! Works like a charm now :)
Title: Re: [BUG] Opening the console doesn't work (Have tried everything)
Post by: markpeterjameslegg on September 09, 2016, 04:01:27 pm
Your welcome ;)