GoldenEye: Source Forums

• April 20, 2024, 02:13:48 am
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Glass Door Texture  (Read 6378 times)

Boris_Crack

• Secret Agent
  • Reputation Power: 17
  • Boris_Crack is working their way up.Boris_Crack is working their way up.Boris_Crack is working their way up.
Glass Door Texture
« on: January 25, 2012, 03:24:44 pm »

Hey guys I know I'm posting a lot of questions but I searched for this on youtube and google and didn't find any information on how to make it. I hate to post this because I know I'm gonna start pissing some people off but I'm a beginner and there is no tutorial for this so.. Allright, If I wanna create a glass texture, In the .vmt file, do I have to make it VertexLitGeneric? And is there more to it than just setting the surfaceprop to glass? And finally, what's the optimal size for a door texture to be?
Currently in Progress : ge_mi6 hq

V!NCENT

• 00 Agent
  • Reputation Power: 6
  • V!NCENT has no influence.
Re: Glass Door Texture
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2012, 04:08:59 pm »

Glass is colorless green (0,1% green). So make it almost totally white and 99,9% transparant. The thicker the glass, the greener and less transparent it becomes.

V!NCENT

• 00 Agent
  • Reputation Power: 6
  • V!NCENT has no influence.
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2012, 04:14:19 pm »

Glass is colorless green (0,1% green). So make it almost totally white and 99,9% transparant. The thicker the glass, the greener and less transparent it becomes.
If you want to have an actual ribble texture to it, go with shaders.

Boris_Crack

• Secret Agent
  • Boris_Crack is working their way up.Boris_Crack is working their way up.Boris_Crack is working their way up.
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2012, 04:36:51 pm »

Yes, thank you, I allready knew how to make the texture itself. What I wanna know is how to make my .vmt file properly for it to work well. But thank you for your time, I appreciate it.

Boris_Crack