GoldenEye: Source Forums

• March 28, 2024, 12:22:48 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sup dudes! Great mod! Suggestion about implementing RAW INPUT mouse movement  (Read 8328 times)

biscojoe42

• Agent
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • biscojoe42 has no influence.

Hey dudes,

BiscoJoe here. I am fairly new to this Goldeneye: Source mod, but I must say, I LOVE IT! It's awesome! Showed a buddy of mine and he loved it too, we will be playing more and more and becoming part of this community even tho it's small (can't be as small as CS 1.6, or could it? HAHA!)

Anyways, the first thing I noticed when I was changing my options around in the menus was that under the Mouse tab... there's no sign of disabling mouse acceleration and/or turning mouse raw input on/off. Most source games have raw input implemented into the game (CS:Source, CS:GO) and even HL1 games were updated last year and have the option to enable/disable raw input. Raw input is a great addition to a game because it kills mouse acceleration completely and voids the Windows OS settings, just straight bypasses it and reads your raw mouse data, therefore leading to no negative acceleration or any forms of acceleration.

Here is some info about WM_MOUSEMOVE (which I believe Goldeneye: Source is running right now) and info about WM_INPUT (raw input method).

WM_MOUSEMOVE

The simplest method of reading mouse movement data is through WM_MOUSEMOVE messages. The primary disadvantage to data from WM_MOUSEMOVE is that it is limited to the screen resolution. This means that if you move the mouse slightly — but not enough to cause the pointer to move to the next pixel — then no WM_MOUSEMOVE message is generated. So, using this method to read mouse movement negates the benefits of high-definition input.