GoldenEye: Source Forums

• March 28, 2024, 09:03:11 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 3D Artist Application  (Read 7796 times)

Kinky

• Level Designer / Environment Artist
  • Retired Developer
  • 00 Agent
  • Reputation Power: 7
  • Kinky has no influence.
3D Artist Application
« on: February 02, 2009, 11:40:15 pm »

Hi my name is Matthew Dean (Kinky), im a 20 year old bachelor of arts degree student studying Video Games Design at Solent University in Southampton (i presume a few of you are from the UK and will know where that is)

I dont have any professional experience but i have been using 3D Studio MAX for around 3 years now and am on the second year of my degree.

I am fimiliar with 3DS MAX (up to 2009) as well as Photoshop, Maya, XSI, ZBrush and other software packages. I also have a fair amount of knowledge of Rigging (full characters), all forms of UVW unwrapping, normal/specular/environment maps and animation.

I have also worked on the source engine somewhat before and understand the filetypes and compiling processes somewhat.

Some of my work...

Look forward to hearing from you

Currently in Progress - ge_jungle

Konrad Beerbaum

• Retired Lead Developer
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Konrad Beerbaum has no influence.
    • Konrad Beerbaum Online Portfolio
Re: 3D Artist Application
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2009, 12:09:51 am »

Hey thanks for applying.  It looks like you have a pretty good grasp of modeling. We tend to prefer well-rounded artists who can model, uv, texture, and hopefully compile their own props.  I can't really get a good feel for your texturing or uv mapping skills by those images.  Are you comfortable texturing  your own props and do you have any texturing work to show?

Being able to rig and animate is a big plus, do you have any work in that area that you are able to show?