GoldenEye: Source Forums

• March 28, 2024, 03:14:36 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: OO Programmer Application  (Read 9261 times)

jtlloyd

• Agent
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • jtlloyd has no influence.
OO Programmer Application
« on: March 30, 2008, 03:07:11 am »

Hey guys.
I have been following the mod for a long bit now. Goldeneye was my favorite N64 game and the source of many childhood memories. When I heard about this mod I could hardly contain myself.

Let me tell you a bit about myself: I am a graduating computer scientist with a strong background in math. My specializations are hardware coding and artificial intelligence. When I say hardware coding I refer to problems in EDA. My largest single project in Hardware coding was a fully featured alarm clock with motion sensor programmed on a DE2 board in VHDL. Currently working on an avionics package to place on an RC helicopter. My interest in hardware coding is what led me to c/c++ work. I am fascinated by the ability to work at the assembler level, something I have not been able to do much in java and other languages. The state driven style of graphics coding is analogous to my work on chips and has been an easy transition.

The reason I am applying is rather strange. I investigated working in the games industry at GDC. After some interviews I had a couple of job offers and came to a realization: Pay is crap. I am in a situation where I need a good deal of money so decided to pick up a job in the defense sector until I head off to graduate school. I am still interested in the field though, so a mod-team is better fitted to my time and interests.