GoldenEye: Source Forums

  • February 02, 2023, 10:48:27 am
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Noob with a question...  (Read 3431 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

trainboy1094

  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • trainboy1094 has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Noob with a question...
« on: June 15, 2010, 06:24:45 pm »

Hello! Yes, when it comes to GoldenEye Source I most certainly am a noob. But the game looks great and I was hoping to give it a shot. I am trying to install the game and ran in to one issue. When I go to install the SDK base, do I install the one listed as "Source SDK Base" or "Source SDK base 2007"? Also, the article on the wiki said to install the "Source SDK Base - Orange Box". I cannot find that version. Is the tutorial outdated?

Thanks ahead of time,
Mike
Logged

Jonathon [SSL]

  • Generalist
  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,311
  • Reputation Power: 99
  • Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • Steam Community Page
Re: Noob with a question...
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2010, 06:54:54 pm »

Install the SDK Base 2007 and run it once, then quit and you should be able to run the mod. Valve recently split the Source engine from two branches (Episode 1/Orange Box) into three branches (2006/2007/2009) in order to add Mac support to the newest version. Source Engine 2007 and Orange Box are the same.
Logged
Quote
Luchador: I NEVER NAME MY FILES IN UPPER CASE
Luchador: I ONLY TALK IN UPPER CASE
[GE:S] killermonkey: GOOD TO KNOW

trainboy1094

  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • trainboy1094 has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Noob with a question...
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2010, 11:34:07 pm »

Great, thanks! It worked! One last thing. I started the game and went to play, but I only saw two servers in the list. Are there more? Are these servers public, or only for clans? Thanks!
Logged

Jonathon [SSL]

  • Generalist
  • Retired Lead Developer
  • 007
  • *
  • Posts: 1,311
  • Reputation Power: 99
  • Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!Jonathon [SSL] is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • Steam Community Page
Re: Noob with a question...
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2010, 11:45:32 pm »

Untick "Show Map List" in the server browser. For some reason it seems to cause a lot of servers to not show up.
Logged
Quote
Luchador: I NEVER NAME MY FILES IN UPPER CASE
Luchador: I ONLY TALK IN UPPER CASE
[GE:S] killermonkey: GOOD TO KNOW

trainboy1094

  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • trainboy1094 has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Noob with a question...
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2010, 11:47:09 pm »

Great! Thanks again!
Logged

hemtar

  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • hemtar has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Noob with a question...
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2010, 09:11:41 pm »

Even unticking that I can't see any server....

Do I have to something else apart from instaling the mod?

Thanks in advance!
Logged

Kinky

  • Level Designer / Environment Artist
  • Retired Developer
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 751
  • Reputation Power: 7
  • Kinky has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Noob with a question...
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2010, 10:46:11 pm »

Cant see ANY servers?

Is hl2.exe being blocked by a firewall?
Logged

Currently in Progress - ge_jungle

CCsaint10

  • Nickname: "Saint"
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Reputation Power: 71
  • CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Noob with a question...
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2010, 02:31:11 am »

Also, check this thread bud even if it is being blocked by a firewall as these guys were having the same problem.

http://forums.goldeneyesource.net/index.php/topic,5049.0.html
Logged

Brings back memories, doesn't it? :D

hemtar

  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • hemtar has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Noob with a question...
« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2010, 10:16:10 am »

I don't understand whats going on...

If I can play in VAC servers of Hl2 Death Match without any problem, why is there a problem with GES?

It can't be the firewall:  I have ZoneAlarm and I setup the "game mode", which is to say "allow all".

I managed to add a server into favorites and join a game, but after a while (2-3 minutes) y got the "Secure connection failed" error.

After that, the server disappears from my favorite servers list and it doesn't apperar until I reboot the game!

My internet connection is stable for other games so: Why is GES more exigent?

Why aren't the servers listed?
The mysterious is served.

Again: thanks a lot in advance for your support!
Logged

CCsaint10

  • Nickname: "Saint"
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Reputation Power: 71
  • CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!CCsaint10 is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Noob with a question...
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2010, 05:45:09 am »

please stop posting on different topics when you already made a thread of your own. If no one responds on that thread, it means no one has an answer for you. No need to spam your problem in other peoples' threads.
Logged

Brings back memories, doesn't it? :D

hemtar

  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • hemtar has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Noob with a question...
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2010, 09:34:59 am »

I'm sorry, wont do it again.... I was desperate!  :angel:
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up