GoldenEye: Source Forums

• March 28, 2024, 09:59:41 am
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Level Designer Qualifications?  (Read 7881 times)

AntixGaming

Level Designer Qualifications?
« on: September 22, 2008, 07:58:08 pm »

What exactly are you looking for when you say "Level Designer"?

Are you just looking for people to make concepts, or are you looking for people who actually create the level in 3D?

It would be nice to know what you are looking for. I mean i have a creative mind and all, i make maps on WC3 Frozen Throne and they seem to hit it off well, but i have no experience in 3D design.

Anything you are looking for in specific?

-AntixGaming

Konrad Beerbaum

• Retired Lead Developer
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Konrad Beerbaum has no influence.
    • Konrad Beerbaum Online Portfolio
Re: Level Designer Qualifications?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2008, 08:54:37 pm »

Both of what you said.  You have to be able to design a new version of GE64 levels, and some need significant changes to be made into multiplayer maps that can hold more than 4 people.  You need to have source engine experience, and have a portfolio or previous work to show so that we can see that you can design a level that takes gameplay into account, and also that you have a good grasp of technical skills necessary to make a quality source map. 

So having good design skills is a good start, but you need to have demonstrable experience making maps for the source engine. 
Konrad Beerbaum: Environment Artist
http://www.konradbeerbaum.com

AntixGaming

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2008, 10:50:50 pm »

ok. thank you.
i mean i have hammer so i can make source maps and all, but im kinda new to it. i mean ive made like 3 maps but i didnt use things like HDR Lighting or anything.
i didnt use custom skins/templates/terrain or whatever you want to call them.
but ill make some samples with HDR and some other things and ill post them in another post.