GoldenEye: Source Forums

  • July 18, 2018, 07:40:39 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to change server FPS  (Read 2727 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Wishful Thinking!

  • Community GE:S Australia Admin
  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Reputation Power: 4
  • Wishful Thinking! has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
    • Wishful Thinking!
How to change server FPS
« on: September 17, 2015, 11:40:20 PM »

Hello,

How can I change (either increase or decrease) the server's FPS?
I initially though that this would be -tickrate however this does not appear to have any effect on it, which stands to reason since I believe -tickrate (may) have been removed from Source Engine?

Cheers,
Logged
..: PC Gaming & Anime | TeamSpeak 3: ts3.wishfulthinkings.net :..

soupcan

  • Systems Administrator
  • 00 Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Reputation Power: 137
  • soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • Steam Profile
Re: How to change server FPS
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2015, 06:48:46 AM »

SrcDS does not enable the Windows multimedia timer, which means you can't achieve more than 60-something FPS.

Currently, I recommend installing this on the machine running the server: http://www.brainless.us/downloadcategory/9/FPS-Booster-Service

Also, if you're trying to run a server higher than 66-tick, I would not recommend it for public servers. I have seen all sorts of odd behavior from moving objects (doors, especially) that make it, while playable, rather obnoxious.

The server's FPS can be changed using fps_max, just like the client. This shouldn't be an issue; it's 300 by default. The frequency of game 'tick' cycles can be changed using the -tickrate command flag.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2015, 06:53:36 AM by soupcan »
Logged

Wishful Thinking!

  • Community GE:S Australia Admin
  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Reputation Power: 4
  • Wishful Thinking! has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
    • Wishful Thinking!
Re: How to change server FPS
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2015, 12:42:46 AM »

Hi,

fps_max is what I was looking for.

SrcDS does not enable the Windows multimedia timer, which means you can't achieve more than 60-something FPS.

Strange, mine was saying ~220-240 FPS - Unless it wasn't actually 'running' at that.

I have tickrate a bit lower than 66, mostly to ensure the CPU doesn't chock as much.

Cheers,
Logged
..: PC Gaming & Anime | TeamSpeak 3: ts3.wishfulthinkings.net :..

soupcan

  • Systems Administrator
  • 00 Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Reputation Power: 137
  • soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!soupcan is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • Steam Profile
Re: How to change server FPS
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2015, 06:18:12 AM »

The server shouldn't be consuming much CPU; even a Pentium 4 should be more than sufficient. Unless you have a specific reason to, lowering the tick rate is only making your players' experience worse.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up