GoldenEye: Source Forums

  • October 17, 2018, 09:22:04 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?  (Read 10948 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

RogerMooreSucks

  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #15 on: March 14, 2015, 07:38:48 AM »

How to i change it to "VertexLitGeneric" in VTFedit?
Logged
Troy, get back on that treadmill

kraid

  • Game Artist
  • 007
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,967
  • Reputation Power: 168
  • kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • my Homepage
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #16 on: March 14, 2015, 07:48:04 AM »

OUCH. You seriouse?

Just edit that damn .vmt with a text editor.
Or choose VertexLitGeneric from the list of shaders in the VMT create options Tab.
Logged

RogerMooreSucks

  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2015, 07:56:29 AM »

OUCH. You seriouse?

Just edit that damn .vmt with a text editor.
Or choose VertexLitGeneric from the list of shaders in the VMT create options Tab.

lol i just wanted to make sure i was doing it right. Just in case could you check out my project to make sure i didn't fudge something up? Here is the project for cinema 4d. The link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/xskdwa6idywiy02/SnowBlind%20Mountains%20for%20Kraid.zip?dl=0.
I also noticed in sdk source that the model doesnt have any wireframe lines, it is completely invisible. 
« Last Edit: March 14, 2015, 10:02:34 AM by RogerMooreSucks »
Logged
Troy, get back on that treadmill

kraid

  • Game Artist
  • 007
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,967
  • Reputation Power: 168
  • kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • my Homepage
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #18 on: March 15, 2015, 09:37:57 AM »

I took a look at your file and there are indeed many issues.

You need to get a better understanding of what you're doing by watching some basic C4D tutorials.

I told you to import a .smd into C4D to get an idea of the hierarchy and required Tags for a model export.
Guess you didn't do that.

Parametric Objects, Deformers and Generators cannot be exported to .smd and most other file formats.
They are meant for internal usage only.
So all these things, if they are going to be exported, have to be converted into polygon objects.

Here's an example on how it could look like:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/732he849pc34aqc/snowmountain.zip

The top object is just used for baking textures and deactivated for editor and rendering.
(also doesn't export with the rest when the option only visible objects is selected) the
It was created the cheap and dirty way, simply by using the polygon reduction deformer on a highpoly landscape object,
then UV mapped the result and baked out the shaders color and normal channel.

I recomend you to take a carefull look at all the settings e.g. of the bake texture tag.


Last but not least, if you need to know any in depth information about a certain object, tag, or anything else inside of C4D,
use the built in help system.
Right click on the symbol and choose help to directly jump to the part of the documentation that describes it.
Logged

RogerMooreSucks

  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #19 on: March 15, 2015, 11:45:28 AM »

I took a look at your file and there are indeed many issues.

You need to get a better understanding of what you're doing by watching some basic C4D tutorials.

I told you to import a .smd into C4D to get an idea of the hierarchy and required Tags for a model export.
Guess you didn't do that.

Parametric Objects, Deformers and Generators cannot be exported to .smd and most other file formats.
They are meant for internal usage only.
So all these things, if they are going to be exported, have to be converted into polygon objects.

Here's an example on how it could look like:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/732he849pc34aqc/snowmountain.zip

The top object is just used for baking textures and deactivated for editor and rendering.
(also doesn't export with the rest when the option only visible objects is selected) the
It was created the cheap and dirty way, simply by using the polygon reduction deformer on a highpoly landscape object,
then UV mapped the result and baked out the shaders color and normal channel.

I recomend you to take a carefull look at all the settings e.g. of the bake texture tag.


Last but not least, if you need to know any in depth information about a certain object, tag, or anything else inside of C4D,
use the built in help system.
Right click on the symbol and choose help to directly jump to the part of the documentation that describes it.

In spite of what you have told me to do, I only been using this program for a few weeks and I didn't realize all the necessary steps in order to have everything correct to make a model usable. I do appericate your tips and help. I am a noob to this, it will take me a bit to get a full grasp on this program, i guess i got impatient and really wanted to get my mountain model in game. Patience is a virtue i suppose. Thanks for the example, it really is helpful.
Logged
Troy, get back on that treadmill

RogerMooreSucks

  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #20 on: March 22, 2015, 12:04:04 PM »

Hello again. I took the example you sent me and and used it as a test. I compiled it from an .smd to .mdl and added the texture you provided. I went into sdk model viewer and it gives me the error "ERROR LOADING MODEL." I followed your advice and i figured most of it out to a certain extent but i still can't seem to get the model to become viewable in the model viewer or in hammer itself when i go to place the static prop. Not sure if you even finished that example where it could be immediately exported and compiled to be used right away. I just did it simply as a test. I know there is help manual but I'd rather speak to you directly since you understand how to do this. The manual only helps to a certain extent. There is no direct instructions on how to get a model ready and usable for hammer.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2015, 12:07:38 PM by RogerMooreSucks »
Logged
Troy, get back on that treadmill

kraid

  • Game Artist
  • 007
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,967
  • Reputation Power: 168
  • kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • my Homepage
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #21 on: March 22, 2015, 05:16:13 PM »

Tested it myself, it's working just fine, so the issue has to be on your end.


Most simple and basic .qc i ever used i'd say:
Code: [Select]
$modelname "props\snowblind\snowmountain.mdl"
$cdmaterials "\models\props\snowblind"

$staticprop
$surfaceprop "ice" //doesn't really matter, since it'll never be shot

$body "Body" "snowmountain.smd"

$sequence idle "snowmountain" loop fps 1

Note that i compile the model with sdk launcher opened and set to GES config.
Also for the sake of usability, i use GUIStudioMDL to compile.

The only thing i recently stumble uppon in every source engine related compile is this:

Code: [Select]
..\tier1\fileio.cpp (4002) : Assertion Failed: m_nNumRegisteredWriters == 0
Assert( Assertion Failed: m_nNumRegisteredWriters == 0 ):..\tier1\fileio.cpp:4002

Happens on prop and map compile. Not sure what it means, maybe some access issues at file writing.
Compiling still works without issues, so i guess it can be ignored.
Logged

RogerMooreSucks

  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #22 on: March 23, 2015, 11:45:54 AM »

Tested it myself, it's working just fine, so the issue has to be on your end.


Most simple and basic .qc i ever used i'd say:
Code: [Select]
$modelname "props\snowblind\snowmountain.mdl"
$cdmaterials "\models\props\snowblind"

$staticprop
$surfaceprop "ice" //doesn't really matter, since it'll never be shot

$body "Body" "snowmountain.smd"

$sequence idle "snowmountain" loop fps 1

Note that i compile the model with sdk launcher opened and set to GES config.
Also for the sake of usability, i use GUIStudioMDL to compile.

The only thing i recently stumble uppon in every source engine related compile is this:

Code: [Select]
..\tier1\fileio.cpp (4002) : Assertion Failed: m_nNumRegisteredWriters == 0
Assert( Assertion Failed: m_nNumRegisteredWriters == 0 ):..\tier1\fileio.cpp:4002

Happens on prop and map compile. Not sure what it means, maybe some access issues at file writing.
Compiling still works without issues, so i guess it can be ignored.

Thanks Kraid. I found what i did wrong. It's funny how something so minor can throw everything off. Also whenever i compile the smd to mdl it makes a seperate gesource folder and puts the model there for some odd reason even though i give it a direct path to compile to.
Logged
Troy, get back on that treadmill

RogerMooreSucks

  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2015, 10:01:05 AM »

Morning Kraid. I been busy trying to figure out this program for the last 4 weeks. Looking at countless tutorials which barely offered any help and I really would like to release this map very soon so i was wondering if you could make a tutorial on how you made your mountain model with all the necessary tags in C4D so that it is ready for export when its all said and done. I have wasted a lot of time and effort on this only to end up in the same spot countless times over and over and quite frankly it is tiresome. Honestly this program is really not user friendly....not to mention that cinema 4d offers tutorials that cost over 350 dollars LOL which i found hilarious. I literally have watched over 25 tutorials and i watch them very closely and the tutorials they did were missing the important tags your model had. So those tutorials are useless for me. I wish this program was a bit more user friendly...unless it is and i am just a retard. I know i bitch and moan when things don't come easy i am more of a visual learning so if i don't see how it is done then i really don't understand it. Once i see it i never forget how to do it. I know i ask a lot from you and i do greatly appreciate all your help you provide me but for the maps sake I think this tutorial will help many people besides myself on how to properly make mountains for sdk hammer. Trust me i rather do this on my own if i knew the necessary skills but i don't. I know i need to learn this program on my own but for the maps sake i see no other option. I am not asking you to make the mountain model for me; I just really need some professional guidance on this program. Thanks if you can.
Logged
Troy, get back on that treadmill

kraid

  • Game Artist
  • 007
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,967
  • Reputation Power: 168
  • kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • my Homepage
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #24 on: March 30, 2015, 04:04:48 PM »

C4D is one of the most user friendly 3D apps out there. A bit tricky though if you're creating game assets with it, since it initially wasn't exactly designed with game creation in mind.

I haven't spent one cent on tutorials for C4D yet. There's plently of good free stuff out there.
Ofc. same issue when it comes to game content creation and even more of an issue when it gets as specific as modelling for source using C4D.

Quote
I am not asking you to make the mountain model for me
In fact you do. Because in order to create the desired Tut for you, i'd have to create a mountain model.
Also i'd have to restrict myself to the features R13 offered, because this is what you're using right?
So no sculpting, mesh projection or other new Features from my R16 allowed.

Right now i ain't got time for things like this, sorry.
Logged

RogerMooreSucks

  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.RogerMooreSucks is looked down upon.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #25 on: March 31, 2015, 09:49:37 AM »

C4D is one of the most user friendly 3D apps out there. A bit tricky though if you're creating game assets with it, since it initially wasn't exactly designed with game creation in mind.

I haven't spent one cent on tutorials for C4D yet. There's plently of good free stuff out there.
Ofc. same issue when it comes to game content creation and even more of an issue when it gets as specific as modelling for source using C4D.
In fact you do. Because in order to create the desired Tut for you, i'd have to create a mountain model.
Also i'd have to restrict myself to the features R13 offered, because this is what you're using right?
So no sculpting, mesh projection or other new Features from my R16 allowed.

Right now i ain't got time for things like this, sorry.

I upgraded to R16 now :). I suppose you are right about you "Not having to make the model." I didn't think of that lol. I got your message as well
One thing i am having issues with is how to apply the "normal tag" to it, and when i show the mesh in uv edit it is perfectly square...a big black square. IS that normal? When i looked at your model and showed the mesh it showed the lines and detail of the model. Am I doing the UV coordinates correctly? I tired to do the uv coordinates before the object bake and i had everything ticked correctly but it wouldn't allow me to generate the coordinates until after i baked the object. I am still failing how to see orange...meaning the UV points. All i ever see is either blue or yellow.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2015, 01:26:00 PM by RogerMooreSucks »
Logged
Troy, get back on that treadmill

kraid

  • Game Artist
  • 007
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,967
  • Reputation Power: 168
  • kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • my Homepage
Re: Cinema 4D to SDK hammer?
« Reply #26 on: March 31, 2015, 04:08:09 PM »

Quote from: roger
One thing i am having issues with is how to apply the "normal tag" to it
Allready said that in my first post in this thread:
Quote from: kraid
I'd also recomend Vertex Normal Tool lite to 'bake' the phong-tag smoothing into a normals Tag.
I assume that you are able to google it.

As for your UV issue:
Quote from: kraid
Last but not least, if you need to know any in depth information about a certain object, tag, or anything else inside of C4D,
use the built in help system.
Right click on the symbol and choose help to directly jump to the part of the documentation that describes it.
In this case it means right click on the UV tag and choose help from the drop down.
Read the upcomming help text and also the hyperlinked additional information.

RTFM (read the fucking manual) is something i recomend everyone who's working with Cinema 4D.
Sometimes it's better then any tutorial out there.
I literally learned the 3D basics just by reading through an earlier version of their Manual, when it was still a PDF.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up