GoldenEye: Source Forums

  • April 13, 2024, 02:27:15 am
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Fixing Ge_Grid  (Read 5360 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

markpeterjameslegg

  • Did I fire six shots? Or only five?
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 879
  • Reputation Power: 202
  • markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Fixing Ge_Grid
« on: August 27, 2012, 02:29:00 pm »

As the title says, i'm trying to fix up Grid, in the first image you'll see I have sorted the floor trim by replacing the VMT file that links to the Facility tile texture, but I can't figure out what to do for the other 2 screenshots, does anybody have any idea? I assume it will be the same method of re-directing.

Also, i'm still struggling to place Bots in this map, have made a couple of attempts adding nodes, but adding nodes alone doesn't seem to work.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Logged

major

  • On Vacation
  • Retired Developer
  • 007
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,837
  • Reputation Power: 109
  • major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!major is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2012, 06:47:43 pm »

Tried messaging Session?
Logged
All view points are of my own and not associated with the team.

markpeterjameslegg

  • Did I fire six shots? Or only five?
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 879
  • Reputation Power: 202
  • markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2012, 07:05:41 pm »

Done.
Logged

kraid

  • Game Artist
  • 007
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,984
  • Reputation Power: 191
  • kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • my Homepage
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2012, 08:40:12 pm »

Several possibilities here:

1. contact the creator, make him aware of the issues and hope he'll fix them.
or
2. finding the missing textures (and props if necessary) and either including them into the bsp or having them downloadable directly from the server

the 2nd possibility should only be used if there won't be an update from the creator.

A few issues you possibly run into with this:
- packing files into the bsp changes CRC, so if the map allready spread in the community
(which is the case here, especially since some ppl only patched 4.1 to 4.2 and 4.2.1)
this would cause a lot of "map differing from server" errors
- renaming the map could cause more issues then it solves, it's kinda tricky to do it without breaking the cubemaps, or increasing the filesize drastically because of duplicated cubemap textures.
- if you choose to have the textures/materials downloading directly from the server, make sure there is no conflict with an existing texture or material in the mod.

BTW: if you need to find out material names of a prop, open the .mdl file with a hex editor (e.g. PSPad), scroll down to the bottom. there should be the name of the materials and also the path where they should be located.
Logged

markpeterjameslegg

  • Did I fire six shots? Or only five?
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 879
  • Reputation Power: 202
  • markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2012, 08:52:27 pm »

Thanks Kraid. The biggest issue is the fact that Ge_Grid doesn't exist in the "Materials/Goldeneye" folder along with the other maps, I have no idea where it's getting it's materials from, Ge_Siberia is in there. I have walked around it in game, it's definitely installed, yet it doesn't exist anywhere in the folders, it's a complete mystery.

Hmm... I think there's only one dude that fix this map, and that's Sess1on, my knowledge of this engine is too limited. I'll keep looking anyway.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2012, 08:58:39 pm by markpeterjameslegg »
Logged

kraid

  • Game Artist
  • 007
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,984
  • Reputation Power: 191
  • kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • my Homepage
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2012, 09:10:23 pm »

Don't worry everything's allright :)
Materials can be located everywhere in the materials/ folder.
materials/Goldeneye/mapname is just a convention we choosed for our official maps to have the content better organized.
Since it is a third party map the custom content used in it, will be packed into the bsp anyway.
Logged

Sess1on

  • Agent
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • Sess1on has no influence.
  • Offline Offline
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2012, 09:52:30 pm »

Hey guys. Sorry I haven't been active, I've been rather busy on my end to get around to fixing this. Plus I got an SSD hard drive a while ago so I don't have as many things installed/space. For me to fix this I'd have to make room on my SSD for both 4.2 AND Source SDK Base, download and install them, configure each plus Hammer, fix the issues, then recompile, then repack, then retest. Needless to say it's not a simple fix.

Some of these texture errors and missing model materials I'm honestly not sure about. I didn't "pack" any of that stuff into the bsp. The map is just fetching for something in the materials folder that is no longer there in 4.2. We just need to figure out what material was taken out of 4.1 and just put it back into 4.2.
Logged

Level Designer: Ge_Grid

TriDefiance

  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 343
  • Reputation Power: 78
  • TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!TriDefiance is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2012, 10:00:28 pm »

Hey guys. Sorry I haven't been active, I've been rather busy on my end to get around to fixing this. Plus I got an SSD hard drive a while ago so I don't have as many things installed/space. For me to fix this I'd have to make room on my SSD for both 4.2 AND Source SDK Base, download and install them, configure each plus Hammer, fix the issues, then recompile, then repack, then retest. Needless to say it's not a simple fix.

Some of these texture errors and missing model materials I'm honestly not sure about. I didn't "pack" any of that stuff into the bsp. The map is just fetching for something in the materials folder that is no longer there in 4.2. We just need to figure out what material was taken out of 4.1 and just put it back into 4.2.

Hope you can fix the map! Best of luck! :)
Logged

markpeterjameslegg

  • Did I fire six shots? Or only five?
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 879
  • Reputation Power: 202
  • markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2012, 10:15:27 pm »

Hi Sess1on, look forward to the day this map is fixed with bots, I've still yet to play multiplayer on it, still surprises me that such an outstanding map wasn't included with the mod, it's in every way up to Casino quality.

Kraid, would applying the 4.2 patch over 4.1 keep the materials that are currently missing from this map, or does it still remove them?
« Last Edit: August 27, 2012, 10:17:26 pm by markpeterjameslegg »
Logged

killermonkey

  • GES Programmer
  • Retired Lead Developer
  • GE:S Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 5,473
  • Reputation Power: 346
  • killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!killermonkey is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • DroidMonkey Apps
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2012, 02:53:54 am »

If you want to know the material that is missing you could use mat_crosshair to identify the material that is under the crosshair currently.

Or you can do mat_texture_list 1 (with cheats)
« Last Edit: August 28, 2012, 02:57:47 am by killermonkey »
Logged

kraid

  • Game Artist
  • 007
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,984
  • Reputation Power: 191
  • kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!kraid is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
    • my Homepage
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2012, 09:14:45 am »

In case of using the patch, all the additional files remain in the mod.
So there might be no issues with the map for those users.

The issue with missing content sadly appears after every release.
But at some point we have to delete old unused content from the mod in order to reduce the overall size.
It's allready hard enough to make sure there's nothing missing on the official maps, we cannot guarantee that for the third party maps.

IMO it would be the best idea if the server owners check the third party maps on each release before putting them up on the server again.
In case of missing files, they could add them as a download from the server.
Also, if the creator of the map is working on a new version of his map, releasing it after a new version of GES is out would be a good idea.

If a map creator doesn't want to change his map for future updates, maybe he'd like to share his vmf so the community could take care of this.
Logged

markpeterjameslegg

  • Did I fire six shots? Or only five?
  • 00 Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 879
  • Reputation Power: 202
  • markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!markpeterjameslegg is awe-inspiring!
  • Offline Offline
Re: Fixing Ge_Grid
« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2012, 09:26:24 am »

Thanks for your help guys. From what Sess1on was saying, it sounds like he is planning to fix it at some point so i'll leave it to the expert. I'll put this screenshot anyway, maybe it will help Sess1on toward figuring out the issue's:-

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up