GoldenEye: Source Forums

• March 28, 2024, 11:44:46 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: GES and scripting languages  (Read 9602 times)

Mark [lodle]

• Retired Lead Developer
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mark [lodle] has no influence.
GES and scripting languages
« on: September 02, 2009, 04:19:09 pm »

Well my current assigned task for the ges team (which i cant disclose) involved alot of interaction with the scripting langauge that we have in the current build (Lua).

Now im a programmer and can work with most languages but i must say lua has to be pretty bad from a syntax and oo point of view. I must say that using Lua is Garrys fault (of GMOD fame) but i dont blame him for using it. Its one of the few scripting languages that are standalone and sandbox but using it for any thing more than simple stuff it becomes a pain to work with.

So recently i have been looking into switching the scripting lang to something else. The requirements i was looking at was that it had to be oo, have to have simple c++ bindings  and have "normal" syntax. So i was looking around the web and found two good scripting langs i could embed, ChaiScript and python.

I feel in love with ChaiScript from the moment i saw it. Its very c++ like and has really easy c++ bindings with no cost setup. However it doesnt support c++ objects (well not for what we need it for) so it rulled it out and that left python.

My friend at uni is a python nutter and goes on non stop about it (if he could write an operating system in python he would). So naturally i was a bit hesitant to use it at first and i was right. The syntax is not c++ like (but still shits over lua) and the initial setup (embedding it into c++) was hard as hell. However i have grown to love it.