GoldenEye: Source Forums

• March 28, 2024, 08:19:38 pm
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Februrary 26, 2008 - Life of a Coder  (Read 9545 times)

Anthony

• GES Plugin Coder
  • Secret Agent
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • Anthony has no influence.
Februrary 26, 2008 - Life of a Coder
« on: February 27, 2008, 01:02:57 am »

Hey guys,

My name is Anthony Iacono. I am a programmer. Now, the definition of programming, in my opinion, is to write a set of instructions for execution. I am the type of programmer that doesn't like "Hello World." Sure, you have to start somewhere, but why the hell wouldn't you want to learn about the hardware first? I mean, sure, I can write down "2 + 3 = 5" but I don't think it is smart to just assume it without learning the basics of the base-10 numbering system. Now, you might say, "Base numbering systems and computer hardware are not even needed to do basic operations and writing simple software." Well, you still need to know SOMEWHAT the way these things work. Imagine trying to multiply numbers without knowing that place-digits group in 10s? The same principal applies for writing code. I'll admit, I started with "Hello World." It was a big mistake, I didn't ACTUALLY get good at programming until I learned about the actual low-level operations of a computer. I mean seriously, if you are part of the bomb squad and you are told to cut the blue wire, you want to be able to confirm that with your knowledge before just doing it. Now, I joined the Goldeneye: Source team because I love Goldeneye. Seems pretty simple right? I had no intention of being a lead developer, until I saw the work that had already been done. I first loaded up the source code, and almost cried a little. It wasn't that the coders didn't know what they were doing, they just didn't collaborate well. When I proposed some new ideas, as well as some cool stuff that will be mentioned in a later news post, it started a lot of activity.